Day 3 – Finding my way home in India

Today’s assignment: Share the strangest experience of your year. Did you do something new or unexpected, see something out of the ordinary, or have a unique experience? What was so strange about it?

I got this one.

One word: India

India was the strangest experience of my year. It was new and unexpected, I have had a heart for India and a desire to go for many years, but the pieces all fell perfectly, unexpectedly into place this past August. It was certainly out of the ordinary. I had many unique experiences (like learning how to use an Indian bathroom!) . And everything about it was strange! And wonderful.

Lucky for me, I’ve already written a blog on this one:

Coming home in India

People have asked me to describe Northview Church’s GO Team trip to India. The problem is that it cannot be described with words alone. India is sensory overload. The barrage of sights, sounds, tastes and smells overwhelm you and never let up. I could show you a thousand pictures. But you could not feel it; you could not taste it.

People want to know what I did in India. Did I build a school, or dig a well? Did I provide medical care? What was this mission I flew 18,000 miles to complete? They want the answer in one sentence, 30 seconds or less. When I tell them I went to work with survivors of human trafficking, there is an audible pause. Women shake their heads; men get angry. The questions come quickly in hushed tones. They want statistics. They want ages. They want horror stories.

To read more, please click here.

One thought on “Day 3 – Finding my way home in India

  1. Pingback: Think Kit Day 4 – Decisions, Decisions | valleyofthemoms

Leave a Reply

