Day 4 – Decisions, Decisions

Day 4 – What was the wisest decision you made this year? Did it change your “everyday”, move something from Point A to Point B, or involve others?

I’ve thought on this post all day trying to decide what I wanted to say. I thought about using humor. My first thought is always to go funny. I thought about going with faith. I’ve been teaching my elementary Sunday school class about the character trait of wisdom the entire month of November, so I’ve been studying what the Bible has to say on the topic.

“How much better to get wisdom than gold,  to get insight rather than silver!” Proverbs 16:16

Pretty good advice no matter what you believe. If I can teach my children to strive for wisdom over money, then I will raise some great humans. That verse by the way was written by King Solomon, the wisest man that ever lived. He once ordered one of his guards to take a sword and cut a live baby boy in half to determine who the child’s true mother was! Hollywood’s got nothing on Sunday school lessons.

In the end, I chose to talk about my dad. He’s a pretty wise guy (pun intended).

The Big Decision – 

Looking back on my year, the wisest decision I made was choosing to go back to work. I had been a stay-at-home mom for almost 9 years! To say it changed my “everyday” is putting it mildly. Going back to work full-time turned my world inside out and upside down. It changed who I was as a wife, as a mother, and as a friend. Deciding to enter the workforce again wasn’t the Big Decision. Choosing to go back to work was the easy part, figuring out where I wanted to work, and how to get myself hired there, was terrifying.

When I was a kid, my dad use to take us each out for a breakfast date at the start of the school year. We would sit there at Bob Evans or Denny’s; he in his suit and tie, me in my school dress; and after we had been served our coffee and hot chocolate, he would pull out a pen and a piece of paper. He would start by asking me what my goals were for the year. I was like seven. I wasn’t even sure what  a goal was, I was just pumped to be out to breakfast with my Dad. Eventually we would come up with some goals to write down, and some steps to take to reach them. It was kind of like being raised by Tony Robbins.

My dad taught me how to make decisions the same way he taught me how to set goals. Growing up, if I was faced with a big decision and approached my dad  for advice, he would instead get out a sheet of paper. You know what comes next. You write Pros on one side, Cons on the other. If you’ve never gone through this process to make a decision you are seriously missing out. Nothing focuses your thoughts better than a Pro/Con list on a good ole yellow legal pad! Sure you can fudge a bit to weight one side heavier than the other, but in the end, the truth of what you should do always rises to the top.

Back to my story on deciding where to work…I had no clue how to begin this process. Did I mention I had been a stay-at-home-mom for 9 YEARS? Unless one of my mommy friends was hiring I was screwed. I had been lucky enough to do some contract work while I was at home and in 2012 I had the opportunity to meet quite a few awesome people in the tech scene around Indianapolis. This was a world that wasn’t even on my radar before. I loved it.

Knowing that I had no experience or hard skills to offer a tech company, I sat down and wrote a list of the Top Ten tech companies in Indy I would love to work for and with. Then I wrote down the name of one person at that company I knew (kinda, sorta, maybe had met once). The next step in my Master Plan was to invite them to coffee. Everyone likes coffee, right?

Long story short , the first company/person I reached out to hired me! He really didn’t stand a chance. I basically bombarded him with my resume and cleverly crafted cover letter the moment he walked in the door at Hearthstone. I also kind of stalked him at preschool drop-off and pick-up but I don’t suggest that part.

[Side Note: If you’re looking for a job, NEVER skip the cover letter. Big mistake. Your cover letter is your chance to distinguish yourself and show off your personality. A good cover letter can get you an interview, the rest is up to you.]

In the end, the wisdom my dad taught me as a kid still serves me well. I hope I’m doing a good job passing it on to my kids.

 

Leave a Reply

